Tombo Ahi Fish and Sweet Potato Chips

img_1560

This ain’t no regular fish and chips, my dears!  I hope I don’t make too many enemies, but regular fish and chips are not something I’d order in a restaurant – I’m not akin to having a fully-fried meal.  My arteries stutter!  It makes me feel like I’ll resort back to high school and get pimples all over again (by the way, total myth – oily foods do not make you break out, although you may feel like it).

My version is healthier.  Tombo ahi is also known as albacore tuna.  You can also use salmon or any firm-fleshed fish and that would work.  The sweet potatoes act as the “chips,” and are just your basic roasted sweet potato with a zucchini thrown in for some good measure.  You know me.  I always try to throw in a little extra green when I can!

Tombo Ahi Fish and Chips

serves about 4

4 Tombo Ahi (albacore tuna) fillets (about 1 lb)

1  Tbsp fennel seeds

1/2 tsp paprika

1/2 tsp red pepper flakes

1/2 tsp freshly cracked black pepper

1/4 tsp seasoning salt

1/4 tsp sea salt

1 Tbsp olive oil

2 large sweet potatoes (about 1 1/2 lbs), cut into french-fry-like pieces

1 zucchini, cut the same way as the sweet potato

Salt and black pepper, to taste

A few shakes of paprika

1 Tbsp olive oil

Cooking spray

1.  Preheat your oven to 400 F.

2.  Place the fennel seeds in a zip-loc bag, and pound the seeds using a mortar and pestle, mallet, or a heavy pan, until the fennel seeds are slightly broken up (they don’t have to be ground to a fine powder – you still want it coarse).  Combine the fennel seeds, paprika, red pepper flakes, black pepper, seasoning salt, and sea salt in a small bowl.

3.  Place the fish fillets on a large plate, and drizzle about 1 Tbsp olive oil over the fillets, covering all sides.  Coat the tops and bottoms of the fillets with the spice mixture, and let the fillets sit for about 5-10 minutes.

4.  In the meanwhile, combine the sweet potatoes and zucchini, along with black pepper, sea salt, paprika, and olive oil in a baking pan.  Put the baking pan in the oven, and roast, turning the potatoes and zucchini every 7-10 minutes for 20 minutes, until the vegetables are tender and slightly browned.

5.  Heat a medium-sized saute pan over medium-high heat.  Spray with cooking spray.  When the pan is hot, add the fish fillets.  Don’t move the fillets, and cook for about 5-7 minutes.  Flip them over and cook a few more minutes on the other side, until the fish is opaque and cooked though (flakes easily with a fork).

That’s it!  To serve, place a bed of the roasted veggies down on your plate and add the fish fillet on top.  Insta-dinner!

Nutrition Facts (serving 4): 347 calories, 8.3 grams fat, 38 grams carbohydrates, 30 grams protein

Comments
10 Responses to “Tombo Ahi Fish and Sweet Potato Chips”
  1. dragonlife says:

    Greetings from Shizuoka, Japan!
    I love fish and chips, but yours will convince me we are friends!
    Interestingly enough, you use the Japanese expression tonbo and mix it with mahi.
    Mahi mahi is another fish, of course, very expensive in Japan!
    Cheers,
    Robert-Gilles
    http://shizuokagourmet.wordpress.com/
    (dragonlife will take you to my fantasy blog!)

  2. Tram Le says:

    Thank you – glad I didn’t offend one person out there! *sigh of relief* Very interesting about the tombo term – didn’t know about the Japanese expression w/mahi-mahi. I made it here, it’s also a little pricey so I only buy it once in awhile 🙂

  3. VeggieGirl says:

    I ADORE sweet potatoes!! Had one for lunch today, actually 😀

  4. phi says:

    this is a healthy and fancy twist to f&c =)

  5. shutupandbake says:

    Oh my does that look good. I can’t wait to try the sweet potatoes.

  6. zerrin says:

    Sounds delicious and helathy. Fish and potato: great couple!

    In fact I generally avoid frying the potatoes, instead I put them (cut in french fry shape) in oven with 200C without oil, it gets even more healthier in this way.

  7. Monique says:

    I puffy heart sweet potato chips!

  8. Tram Le says:

    Thanks everyone! I puffy heart them too! 🙂

  9. duodishes says:

    The sweet potato goes so well with everything! The colors are beautiful.

  10. martin says:

    Awesome recipe! I link to it on my site so people have a great recipe when they buy our sustainable tombo! Thanks!! http://www.ilovebluesea.com/hawaiian-albacore-loin-tombo-p-17.html

Leave a comment