Tamarind Noodles with Kaffir Lime Shrimp

When I set out to make these noodles, I didn’t intend to make a pad thai recipe.  I wanted to make a lightly sauteed rice noodle dish that had big tamarind oomph, with no heavy sauciness, so this is what I came up with.  I had a block of tamarind in my fridge, some rice noodles in the pantry, and needed a meal that would last a couple days.  I’ve been quite busy with a few projects that have been leaving me a little weary of getting carried away in the kitchen, so making enough for leftovers was just fine by me!

You can find tamarind paste at your local Asian grocery store – they sell it in blocks, so all you have to do is break it and whisk it in boiling water to break up the tamarind.  I drain it through a sieve afterward to leave the seeds and thick pulp behind.

Tamarind Noodles with Kaffir Lime Shrimp

serves about 6-8

1-lb (16 oz) rice noodles, soaked in hot water for about an hour until softened and easy to break with your nail

3/4 cup tamarind pulp

3/4 cup boiling water

Juice from 2 limes

2 1/2 Tbsp brown sugar

2 Tbsp fish sauce

1/2 Tbsp extra-virgin olive oil + 1 tsp chili oil

3 cloves garlic, minced

2 kaffir lime leaves, torn

3/4 lb shrimp, peeled, deveined

1/2 tsp salt

1/2 tsp freshly cracked black pepper

1 Tbsp red pepper flakes

1 1/2 cup radish sprouts (or bean sprouts)

Thinly sliced green onion (sliced lengthwise)

Optional garnishes if you have ’em: Cilantro, fried shallots, ground peanuts, slices of lime, chili sauce

Preparation:

1.  Prep the rice noodles.

2.  In a small bowl, whisk the boiling water into the tamarind until the mixture is thick and pudding-like.  Drain through a sieve, pushing the water-pulp mixture through the sieve.   Discard the seeds and fibrous parts that are left behind.  Whisk in the lime juice, brown sugar, and fish sauce.  Set aside.

3.  In a large saute pan over medium-high heat, heat the olive oil and chili oil.  Add in the garlic and kaffir lime leaves.  Saute for a minute, and then add in the shrimp with salt and pepper.  Saute the shrimp, about 2-3 minutes on each side until cooked through.  Place the shrimp in a medium bowl and leave the garlic and oil mixture in the pan.

4.  Add in extra olive or chili oil if needed to the pan.  Add the red pepper flakes, then the drained rice noodles.  Toss the noodles in the pan mixture and pour in the tamarind sauce evenly over the noodles.  Saute and continually toss the noodles in the mixture until well-coated and the sauce is absorbed by the noodles.  When the noodles are done (you want them to not be soggy and slightly dry), toss in the bean sprouts or radish sprouts.

5.  To plate, transfer the noodles to a large serving plate.  Add the shrimp and thinly sliced green onion.  Top with the garnishes you like and serve!

Comments
12 Responses to “Tamarind Noodles with Kaffir Lime Shrimp”
  1. Phi says:

    Oh I love this idea. I like that sour sweet salty combo!

  2. Stella says:

    Ooh, this looks so pretty and delicious. I wish I could get Kaffir lime around here. I guess I should try to grow some….

  3. I want this plate now! Always keep forgetting to check for kaffir leaves when at the Asian market (as well as curry leaves) – I’ve been wanting to cook with them after hearing so much about their wonderful flavor. I do, however, always have tamarind paste on hand so a version of these will be made soon!

  4. nutrition to kitchen says:

    Phi – I love a mix of flavors too! It keeps the palate happy 🙂

    Stella – you can always ask around at the Asian grocery stores, maybe they have some frozen on hand! 🙂

    Tangled Noodle – I haven’t cooked with curry leaves before – when you get some, post a recipe!

  5. Malia says:

    Hi Tram! This looks soo good. I’m always down for easy recipes. Hope all is well with you. Where are you these days? I started my blog! I’m still getting used to the blogging world, so it’s not the greatest. It def makes me appreciate how awesome your blog is! Aloha from Hawaii…we miss yoU!

  6. Beautiful photo, cous—it’s screaming Tastespotting 🙂

  7. I made a tofu pad thai last week and this reminds me a little bit of that. However, I’ve never used ingredients like tamarind pulp, kaffir lime leaves, or radish sprouts! I wonder if I could find them in Boston? Recipe looks yummy!

  8. luvtoeat says:

    Hi Tram Le! Thank you for sharing that wonderful recipe with us. I’d love to make that for my family some day. My sister in-law once made a tamarind crab dish for us and ever since then I was in love with tamarind recipes. Hope you’re having a great day.

  9. nutrition to kitchen says:

    One thing I love about cooking is the ability to adapt a dish to your taste or what supplies you have on hand that day. Luvtoeat – the crab dish sounds delish and I’d love to see a post of that soon! Janice – I throw tofu in just about everything and was pondering putting that into these noodles, but alas, no tofu in the fridgie. 🙂 Malia – yes, very easy! Will update you on my whereabouts! Culinary Chronicles- thanks for the compliment about my pics!

  10. Julie says:

    Beautiful dish Tram! I tried tamarind in a candy form when I was in culinary school and really enjoyed it…never got a chance to cook with it though. Tamarind AND Kaffir lime leaves together…hmmm may be to hard for me to resist trying. Sounds heavenly as so many of your recipes do.

  11. nutrition to kitchen says:

    Julie – I love the tamarind candies, and hope you cook with tamarind soon! 🙂

  12. Stacy says:

    I love this! I bet it smells fantastic!

Leave a comment