Blueberry Orange Smoothie

I LOVE smoothies!  And lately, I’ve been making one daily, using the fresh summer fruits I’ve been getting at the market, and just adding a few other ingredients to make it a fun snack or breakfast.  I don’t really measure out the ingredients because I just add a little as I go, adjusting after I taste the smoothie to see if I need a little more thickness (by adding more fruit, banana, or yogurt), or if I need to thin it out a bit (by adding orange juice or milk).  I always like to add in yogurt (lowfat plain or vanilla if your fruit is not too sweet) or milk to add some protein to stay fuller longer.  A benefit of adding the fruit whole is that you retain the fiber that is generally lost should you juice the fruit.  Pair your smoothie with a hard-boiled egg and slice of whole-wheat toast for breakfast, and you’ll be a happy camper.

Here is my latest concoction – a blueberry orange smoothie that’s sure to give you a hit of antioxidants from the blueberries and will definitely help you meet your fruit quota of the day.

Don’t have blueberries on hand?  Here are some other ideas that I’ve tried and loved:

Fresh mango + yogurt + milk/orange juice

Fresh strawberries -+ yogurt + spoonful of mango sorbet + milk (YUM!)

Canned diced pineapple with juice + yogurt (like a pina colada, sans alcohol!)

The best part about making your own smoothies, to me, is not only being able to save about $4-5 a pop, but you get to control your portions and, in turn, not overdo the sugar content.

Blueberry Orange Smoothie

serves 1 (measurements are approximate)

about 1/3 cup plain, lowfat yogurt (or vanilla will also do)

3/4 cup fresh blueberries, rinsed and drained

1/3 cup orange juice (100% juice)

1.  Blend all ingredients together and enjoy.

Nutrition Facts (per recipe): Approximately 150 calories, 1.7 grams fat, 30 grams carbohydrates, 5.6 grams protein

Comments
6 Responses to “Blueberry Orange Smoothie”
  1. Phi says:

    MMM we love smoothies too. Just had one yesterday (strawberry and blueberries). I like your combo choices.

  2. I’ve had smoothies on my mind recently and you’ve managed to stoke it even more. Just put the last of my blueberries in my yogurt+granola breakfast but this gives me a great reason to get some more. 😎

  3. Kati M says:

    Great smoothie combination’s! And just in time for this huge heat wave we’ve been having!

  4. nutritioulicious says:

    Mmm…that looks yummy!! Love the new design of the site too!

  5. Chef Lisa says:

    I love your smoothie recipe too! I might throw in pomegranate juice instead of the OJ though…have been on a deep red kick these days, with Pom juice and watermelon and strawberries and raspberries…Lovin’ Summer!

  6. nutrition to kitchen says:

    Thanks for the comments, everyone!

    Chef Lisa – pomegranate juice would be delicious! My parents have a pomegranate tree in their backyard – when it’s in season, I LOVE to drink home-squeezed pomegranate juice!

Leave a comment