The Winners of Round One: Guess that Food!

Remember this picture?  It’s not a grape (although after some of your comments, I will be at least giving you a hint on the size of the thing, because this can definitely pass as a grape!), and it’s not a passion fruit, it’s a……

*ahem*…its a…

STAR APPLE!!!! Pretty wacky huh?  Growing up, I’ve just heard of this fruit from my relatives in Vietnam, but never saw it till last week when we went fruit picking.  You see, when you cut it in half, there’s a star shape in the middle, and you eat the entire insides (except the black seeds) by scooping out the fruit with a spoon.  Tastes faintly of persimmon, and you have to wait until it’s soft on the outside until you eat it.  Delicious!

And here’s a fun tidbit: in Vietnamese, this fruit is called vu sua, which literally translates out to Breast Milk Fruit! I know, saying that makes me kind of giggle. 🙂  The reason why is – you see that white milky stuff in the fruit? – is because the more you squeeze it, the more white sap (edible) comes out.  And I’m just going to stop now before I crack myself up again! 🙂

Alright everyone, so the moment you’ve been waiting for…the winners of Round One: Guess That Food! are…..

Michelle Nguyen and

An!

Congrats ladies!  You will be entered into the drawing to win an awesome foodie cookbook from me.  I really really really really want to tell you what it is and almost wrote it down but I figure I have to work on my patience and wait till the end.  And you know what?  I’m just going to shorten this contest (not because I’m working on my patience), and next week you’ll have a few foods to guess in one quiz.  So stay tuned over the weekend for another recipe coming your way and the next quiz.

Remember, if you haven’t entered the contest yet, you can still try your hand at Guess That Food next week!

I’m having lots of fun here, aren’t you? 🙂

Comments
5 Responses to “The Winners of Round One: Guess that Food!”
  1. Lina says:

    wow thats awesome!

  2. nutrition to kitchen says:

    Lina, after you wrote the comment, the picture started looking more and more like a grape haha!!

  3. OOOHH!!! I always thought Vu Sua were a greenish-brown color but I MUCH prefer these pretty deep purple ones! How fun—I love this game! 🙂

  4. Tele Mike says:

    It’s a grape!

  5. nutritioulicious says:

    Tram that is so cool! Thanks for introducing me to a new fruit!

Leave a comment