Cucumber-Ginger Water

Are you a soda junkie?  Love those sweetened iced teas that you can get at your work’s cafeteria or gas station?

How about this: a 12-ounce can of regular soda has about 140 calories, all of them coming from sugar.  I’ll put it to you straight: that’s NINE TEASPOONS OF SUGAR, empty calories going down your gullet and into your gut.  You can read more about the sugar content in sodas here, written by a fellow blogger and Registered Dietitian Jill Castle.

If you’ve been trying to wean yourself off from drinking your liquid sugars, here’s an idea that might just fit your waistline (and wallet).

Enter in do-it-yourself, flavored waters.  It’s not so much of a recipe as it is more of an idea.  My friend Judy leaves cucumber water in her fridge, and one day I realized that it’s been awhile since I’ve done the same.  I typically like to brew green or white tea (unsweetened) and leave it in the fridge for a refreshing drink during the day, but this cucumber water reminds me of a nice, relaxing day at the spa (not that I even go very often – ha!).  I added another touch to this cucumber water – ginger – and the combination of the spicy ginger infusion neutralized by the sweetness of the cucumber works great here.  Even more delicious on the second day.

Cucumber-Ginger Water

makes a pitcher

2 cups boiling water

1 2-inch piece of fresh ginger, peeled and sliced in half lengthwise

1 whole cucumber, sliced thinly

Cold water

1.  Place the ginger in the boiling water and steep over low heat for about 10 minutes.  Pour the ginger and water into a large pitcher, and fill the rest with cold water.  Place in the refrigerator until cool, then add in the cucumber slices.  Chill until cold before serving.

*I know, I was going to write about the fun desserts you can find in Tokyo, but I’ll wait until the next post, with tips on how to enjoy sweets in moderation without ruining your healthy eating habits! 🙂

Comments
9 Responses to “Cucumber-Ginger Water”
  1. Phi says:

    Oh my gosh, I just had some ginger/chinese date water yesterday and it tasted like unsweetened hot tofu w/ the ginger sauce you know? This sounds really refreshing. The spa experience in a cup!

  2. OOhh, all that’s missing is a luxurious 90 minute full body massage and whirl pools! 🙂

  3. viet says:

    I like the addition of ginger. Gonna try it this weekend.

  4. nutrition to kitchen says:

    Phi – I love that tofu and ginger dessert! Got to find that Chinese date you’re talking about though!

    Culinary chronicles – Yes, too bad I can’t go to one right now though, so I’ll just drink my water 🙂

    Viet – thanks for stopping by, you gotta try it!

  5. Jessica says:

    I recommend my clients to add lemon, orange slices, cucumber, or whatever else they would like to plain water to add some flavor without the calories. I’ll have to try the ginger too!

  6. Phi says:

    I’m making this right now. The Chinese date is jujube(sp?). M’s mom made it with it in it.

  7. Kitchen M says:

    Interesting! I’ve never heard of cucumber water. Is it common in Hawaii? It sounds very refreshing though. I can’t wait for the warmer weather so I can try! 🙂

  8. nutrition to kitchen says:

    Phi – it is jujube. I saw it once at a farmer’s market in California, interesting huh?

    KM – I don’t think it’s really common in Hawaii! 🙂 It’s definitely a good tactic for someone who wants to wean themselves off juices and other sugar-sweetened beverages!

  9. That sounds so delicious! Soda is so bad! Water/Juices all the way!!!

Leave a comment