Honeyed Yogurt and Blueberry Tart with Ginger Crust

Earlier this year when I was in the hospital, my friends would send me cookbooks in the mail.  One friend, Ngoc, sent me a food & wine annual 2010 cookbook that had a bunch of recipes in it.  I’ve been meaning to make something from it ever since.  This weekend, my friend Kym came over to cut my hair, since I’ve been trying to grow it out ever since the accident.  She was my friend in Hawaii who also moved to Texas because her husband got a job here.  Her husband’s birthday was on Saturday, so I wanted to make a birthday tart.  I looked through Ngoc’s cookbook and knew exactly what to make.  Something that was relatively easy to put together, yet tasty too.

A few things – I didn’t have a 14 × 4 1/2″ tart pan, so I just used a 9″ cake pan (springform).  To drain the yogurt, I just used a couple coffee filters and a sifter in a large bowl.  I also added raspberries to the blueberries.  It’s called improv!  Also, my hand was unsteady and I cracked some of the crust.  But a quick shout-out to my sister-in-law for fixing that.  Looks good, in either case.  And it tasted good, too!

Honeyed Yogurt and Blueberry Tart with Ginger Crust

from the food & wine annual cookbook – an entire year of recipes- 2010

serves 8

10 whole graham crackers, broken into pieces

1/4 cup crystallized ginger, minced

1 tablespoon sugar

pinch of salt

3 tablespoons unsalted butter, melted

1 large egg white

2 cups plain fat-free Greek yogurt, drained overnight

2 tablespoons honey

1 1/2 cups blueberries (9 ounces)

Preparation:

1.  Preheat the oven to 350°F.  Spray a 14-by-4 1/2-inch rectangular fluted tart pan with a removable bottom with cooking spray.  In a food processor, pulse the graham crackers with the crystallized ginger, sugar, and salt until finely ground.  Add the butter and egg whites and pulse until the crumbs are evenly coated.  Press the crumbs evenly over the bottom and up the sides of the tart pan.  Bake for about 20 minutes, until the crust is lightly browned.  Let cool completely.

2.  In a bowl, mix the yogurt with the honey.  Spread the yogurt in the crust and arrange the blueberries on top.  Cut the tart in slices and serve.

Comments
10 Responses to “Honeyed Yogurt and Blueberry Tart with Ginger Crust”
  1. Phi says:

    Oh my this is beautiful! Greek yogurt and fruit is so yummy. This is the perfect summer dessert!

  2. Karen says:

    This looks lovely Trammy! Can’t wait to try it sometime!

  3. Jen says:

    Oh this recipe looks simply delish! Definitely a doable recipe here!

  4. Colline says:

    Looks Yummy!

  5. Tricia says:

    Oooh I’m totally gonna make this! I have half a box of graham crackers left over from my camping trip (smores!) and now I have something to use them for…can’t wait!

  6. kimmae says:

    Looks delicious!! Can’t wait to try and make some!

  7. Not only is this beautiful, but a great combination of flavors! Can’t wait to try it 😀

  8. Hi Tram!

    I really like your blog and this recipe looks great. I haven’t tried to make any desserts yet!

    I live in NYC and just took up cooking and picked it up pretty quickly. I recently started my own blog also.

    http://bit.ly/rc9zoR

    Take a look and let me know what you think 🙂

    Thanks! – KK

  9. This looks absolutely divine. I have such a sweet tooth so I would really enjoy it, thanks for sharing this.

  10. cnb says:

    good job little cous! the crust looks pretty darn perfect to me! i wish i could taste its perfection too! 😛

Leave a comment