Earl Grey Tea Cookies

Each day, I try to brew a cup of tea in the afternoon and have a little “me” time.  Life has been quite hectic these days, and in the midst of moving and finishing up a lot of work, I’m trying to take some time to just….breathe.

Enter in my Earl Grey tea cookies!  I made a test batch of these last week, just fiddling around in the kitchen, but felt that I wanted more Earl Grey flavor.  So this week, I added in more tea, really upping the bergamot flavor.  I also added in 1 Tbsp of brewed Earl Grey tea.  Just brew a cup of tea for yourself and reserve a tablespoon of the liquid for the cookies.  If you have white whole-wheat flour, substitute that for the all-purpose flour to add a little bit of fiber.

I love these, and I hope you do too.  They’re like shortbread cookies, but not too sweet nor greasy from excessive butter.  I think you’ll be happy with my results – just check out the nutrition facts per cookie (40 calories each!).  Now go and help yourself to a steaming cup of tea, a cookie or two, and a break, because you deserve it!

Earl Grey Tea Cookies

makes 3 dozen

1 1/4 cup all-purpose flour

1/4 tsp salt

1/3 cup + 1 Tbsp powdered sugar

1 1/2 tsp Earl Grey tea, loose leaf

7 Tbsp unsalted butter, cooled slightly until softened, diced

1 Tbsp brewed Earl Grey tea, cooled

Preparation:

1.  In a small bowl, mix together the flour and salt.  Set aside.  In a spice grinder or food processor (spice grinder works best), process the loose leaf tea until coarsely ground.

2.  In a food processor, add the powdered sugar, tea, and butter.  Pulse the mixture until the sugar and butter are combined.  Add the flour mixture, and process the dough until it starts to comes together.  Then drizzle in the tablespoon of brewed tea, and process until all ingredients are combined.

3.  Split the dough in half.  Form each half into a log, about 1 1/2 inches in diameter.  Wrap each log in a piece of plastic and place in the refrigerator for about 2 hours until cold (I left mine in overnight).

4.  Preheat oven to 350°F.  Slice the cookies so that they’re approximately 1/2 inch in width.  Arrange the cookies onto an ungreased cookie sheet.  Bake the cookies for about 10-12 minutes, or until slightly browned on the edges.  Then have some tea time!

Nutrition information, per cookie: 41 kcal, 2.3 grams fat, 4.6 g CHO, 0.5 grams protein

Comments
15 Responses to “Earl Grey Tea Cookies”
  1. Pam says:

    Tram, your shortbreads look so very civilized and lovely! Shortbread is a delicious treat, and the addition of tea seems a match made in heaven!

  2. nutrition to kitchen says:

    Haha Pam, I never thought someone would call my cookies “civilized,” especially because they’re not in perfect circles! Thanks for the comment, let me know if you make them sometime! Cheerio! hehe! 🙂

  3. Phi says:

    Greetings from Japan- heading home tomorrow- sad! Anyhow I saw these cookies on your blog- they look so good and I cannot wait to try them. It’s funny because I had an Earl Grey donut in Kyoto and it was super good and fragrant. I was thinking what a good idea to use E. Grey in sweets. I totally want to try this. =) Miss ya.

  4. nutrition to kitchen says:

    Wow, Earl Grey tea donuts?! How absolutely yummy! Excited to hear about your trip!

  5. Tram, this is the most beautiful photo! The cookies sound so yummy- I love shortbread cookies and these seem even more special. My stomach is growling!

  6. nutritioulicious says:

    Tram, your pics are truly amazing! These cookies look like they belong in a magazine!

  7. Earl Grey cookies!? What a fabulous idea….because EG is, in my opinion, the tastiest tea around. I can’t wait to try these….but worried I’ll eat them all.

Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. […] Earl Grey Tea Cookies « Nutrition to Kitchen… […]

  2. […] Earl Grey Tea Cookies « Nutrition to Kitchen… […]

  3. […] Earl Grey Tea Cookies « Nutrition to Kitchen… […]

  4. […] Earl Grey Tea Cookies « Nutrition t&#959 Kitchen… […]

  5. […] weekend, I’ll be baking my Earl Grey tea cookies for a neighborhood cookie swap.  Remember those?  I love Earl Grey and have lots of tea so this […]

  6. […] would work so well in a cookie?  I wanted to recreate the shortbread using an old recipe for my Earl Grey tea cookies, this time using rosemary instead of Earl Grey tea.  I had to keep myself from eating the entire […]



Leave a comment