Vegetarian Chili

Earlier this year when I was still in the hospital, my friend Bee visited me.  Before the car accident, my friend Ngoc and I had submitted fifteen book proposals to various companies.  She, being an events planner, thought of a great idea to combine the love for party planning and good food in a book.  Well, during my traumatic brain injury and stay in the hospital, Bee told me a company picked up our book.  I called Ngoc (when I could talk six months later), and told her if she had someone else in mind to co-write the book with her, I’d be okay with it, since I had a lot on my plate at the time.  After all, at the time I was not eating (I was on tube feeds).  I also could barely move my hands, let alone cook!

Ngoc said she would wait for me, and it turned out that I could work on my recipes, with some help in the kitchen from my mom or caretaker or whoever was available at the time.  And it turned out to be good therapy for me too!  I could work on mixing, cooking, sauteeing – all good things for my right hand.

So here’s a recipe from the book.  I’m not going to bother with calling these recipes “healthy,” but they are made with a dietitian’s eye, which means that whenever I can, I make healthy substitutions when possible.  Twice a week, we eat vegetarian, and this recipe fits the bill.  Beware of chili powder – it contains salt, so this is my second time making this because the first time, the chili turned out too salty for my liking.  The second time around turned out perfect!  And you won’t miss the meat here because the beans provide enough protein for you.  So, next summer the book will be out.  Check back for more details and be sure to visit Ngoc here: http://www.skyboxeventproductions.com/

Vegetarian chili

Serves 6-8

2 tablespoons extra-virgin olive oil

½ large onion, diced

4 garlic cloves, minced

1 red bell pepper, diced

1 can (15.8 oz) Great Northern beans, drained

1 can (16 oz) kidney beans, drained

28-oz can crushed tomatoes in puree

1 tablespoon + 1 teaspoon chili pepper powder

1 tablespoon cumin

1 teaspoon red pepper flakes

2 cups low-sodium vegetable broth

Salt, to taste

Optional: lowfat sour cream, chopped green onions, cilantro

In a stockpot over medium-high heat, saute the onions and garlic in the olive oil, about 5 minutes.  Add the red bell pepper, and saute for another 2 minutes.  Add the Great Northern beans and the kidney beans, then the crushed tomatoes in puree, chili powder, cumin, red pepper flakes, and vegetarian broth.  Bring to a boil, then reduce the heat down to low.  Cook for 1 hour.   Add salt to taste.

Comments
8 Responses to “Vegetarian Chili”
  1. what a minute…a publisher picked up your book?!?! that’s GREAT news!!! very well deserved, trammie.

  2. Phi says:

    I am so excited about the book. I love veggie chili. I didn’t realize there was salt in chili powder, thanks!

  3. jasmine says:

    We add portabello mushrooms into our chili recipe. It is almost identical to yours.

  4. Tricia says:

    It’s so exciting to see you cooking and blogging again 🙂 Can’t wait to try the new recipes!

  5. Karen says:

    Tram, I am so excited that you are writing a book! I have been following your blog and using your recipes and I really appreciate having healthy, delicious and manageable recipes. My husband and I love the panko crusted tofu. I have made it at least 4 times already. I haven’t tried this chili yet. Today I am making your pumpkin bread. I was very sad when I hear about your accident. I am glad you are on the mend and still cooking. Thanks for all the work you do by putting up this blog and the photos. You are an inspiration to me in the kitchen. 🙂

  6. Linda says:

    Exciting news about your book! And it is so good to see you blogging so much.

  7. cat says:

    Woohoo!!! How exciting!

Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. […] chilis: Smoked Spice Vegetarian Chili, A Food Centric Life Ultimate Veggie Chili, Apron Strings Vegetarian Chili, Nutrition to Kitchen Southwestern Gumbo, Barbara Bakes Smoky Bean and Corn Chili, Cookin Canuck […]



Leave a comment