Sweet Corn Muffins, but not with Avocado Icing!

Last week, my sister-in-law said to me, “Have you ever thought of avocado icing with cornbread-type muffins?”  I have thought of it, once, and remember Alton Brown once making the frosting before.  His icing looked a little runny and I thought we could toughen it up with some Neufchatel cream cheese.  And cornbread muffins – well, it sounded good!  So I scrounged for a recipe and had one in my Cooking Light Annual Recipes 2008 book.  Bingo!

The frosting was really easy to make.  It looks funny (because it’s green).  You might even be inclined to say that since the frosting has an avocado in it, it’s full of healthy fats, but that’s stretching it.  Anyways, after making it, I realized I hadn’t sifted the powdered sugar (I don’t know where my sifter went, dangit).  The frosting turned out lumpy and ugly.  It had a good taste to it, but my efforts to make it not as runny turned out bad, because it was runny anyways.  So there’s no pic of the frosting because I didn’t bother with frosting the muffins.  Wahaha!  Oh well!

Sweet Corn Muffins

from the Cooking Light Annual Recipes 2008 cookbook

makes 12

1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour

3/4 cup granulated sugar

1/2 cup yellow cornmeal

2 teaspoons baking powder

1/4 teaspoon salt

2/3 cup plain lowfat yogurt

1/4 cup butter, melted

3 tablespoons fat-free milk

1 large egg, lightly beaten

Preheat oven to 375°F.  Combine flour and next 4 ingredients in a medium bowl, stirring with a whisk.  Make a well in center of the mixture.  Combine yogurt, butter, milk, and egg, stirring with a whisk; add to flour mixture, stirring just until moist.

Place 12 paper muffin cup liners in muffin cups.  Divide batter evenly among cups.  Bake at 375°F for 20 minutes, or until a wooden toothpick inserted in the center come out clean.

Comments
One Response to “Sweet Corn Muffins, but not with Avocado Icing!”
  1. Phi says:

    Cute cupcake holder!

Leave a comment