Whole-wheat chocolate chip cookies

The holiday baking commences!  This year, I have a lot to bake for.  It’s my last week in rehab, so I wanted to make chocolate chip cookies, a therapist’s favorite.  I adapted Alice Currah’s recipe for that, since she promises they’re the best cookies ever.  Yes, a healthy diet means you can indulge and have a cookie once in awhile!  In any case, I substituted white whole-wheat and whole wheat flour for the cookies, and used 1/2 teaspoon of fine sea salt since the butter was already salted.  They turned out really good!  Thanks Alice!  And no, I didn’t cut out some of the butter.  Really good cookies use it, and I couldn’t imagine substituting applesauce or anything like that…it just doesn’t taste like a cookie to me anymore, but rather a spongy cake.

I baked several dozen cookies to bring in to my last day of therapy.  Bittersweet.  I’ll miss my therapists who have helped me get better the past six months, but this means progress to me.  This past weekend, my sister-in-law did a 3-mile (not kilometer!) walk with me, and boy, was I tired!  We came in dead last but I felt good knowing it was the farthest I’ve been able to walk in over a year.  It was funny, because a police car was following us to open up the roads again. Whoops!

This weekend, I’ll be baking my Earl Grey tea cookies for a neighborhood cookie swap.  Remember those?  I love Earl Grey and have lots of tea so this will be good to bring to the party.

What will you bake this holiday season?

Chocolate Chip Cookies

adapted from Alice Currah’s http://savorysweetlife.com

1 cup (2 sticks) salted butter, softened

1/2 cup granulated sugar

1 1/2 cups dark brown sugar

2 eggs

2 teaspoons vanilla extract

2 oz white whole-wheat flour

10 oz whole-wheat flour

1/4 tsp fine sea salt

1 teaspoon baking soda

1 1/2 teaspoon baking powder

2 1/4 cups semi-sweet chocolate chips

1.  In a stand-up mixer, beat the butter, then add the sugars, until smooth and fluffy (about 3 minutes).  Add the eggs and vanilla, and beat for another two minutes.  Whisk together the flours, salt, baking soda and baking powder.  Pour into the stand-up mixer and beat until incorporated.  Mix in the chocolate chips.  Drop the cookie dough, into tablespoonfuls, on a baking sheet lined with parchment paper.  Bake for about 10 minutes until golden brown.  Place cookies on a wire rack until cool.

Comments
5 Responses to “Whole-wheat chocolate chip cookies”
  1. Phi says:

    Congrats on everything!

  2. Mike M. says:

    Send some cookies this way! Aloha from Hawaii. -Mike and Briana

  3. I clicked on the nutrition blog network link and up popped your face!! yummm these look soo good I’ll have to try them. Happy Holidays to you!!!

  4. Caffettiera says:

    Well done for the long walk! And for completing the therapy, although I can imagine this is bittersweet for you. One of my favourite recipes for cookies is Kim Boyce whole wheat cookies. It is a recipe developed to be baked with wholewheat flour and they taste amazing – the recipe actually does not work that well with white flour,

  5. nutrition to kitchen says:

    Thank you guys! And Caffetteria, I’ll look up those cookies!

Leave a comment