Soft Tofu Sushi Bowl

I’ve been craving sushi rice lately – that vinegary, slightly sweet flavor you get when you bite into some nigiri sushi, for example.  I figured, how good would it be to make a vegetarian sushi rice bowl, complete with seaweed salad, pickled ginger, and brown rice, with the salad spiked with rice brown vinegar?  Pretty satisfying, if you ask me.

To add some protein, add some sushi-grade tuna or salmon.  You could also add in a a hard-boiled egg, but I chose to add in some soft tofu cubes.

Wakame is a sea vegetable that is just great, in soups (you’ll find this in miso soup) and salads.  Simple soak it in water for a few minutes before using, to rehydrate it.  You can find this product in a lot of places nowadays.  I bought mine at a local Asian grocery store, but I’ve even seen it at Whole Foods.

There’s no recipe to this – I just did everything quickly, on the spur of the moment.  You can just prepare everything to your taste.  In the wakame salad, si

Soft Tofu Sushi Bowl

Soft tofu, marinated (you can use this recipe)

Avocado, diced

Pickled ginger

Wakame salad (I rehydrated some wakame in some water, drained it, then added mirin, rice vinegar, and sugar to taste)

Cucumber

Short or medium-grain brown rice

Leave a comment