Rosemary Shortbread Cookies

A few years ago, my friend Phi made rosemary cookies and I remembered they were so good.  They were slightly addicting!  Who knew rosemary would work so well in a cookie?  I wanted to recreate the shortbread using an old recipe for my Earl Grey tea cookies, this time using rosemary instead of Earl Grey tea.  I had to keep myself from eating the entire batch myself!

I loved these so much I went on a rosemary baking spree – it included rosemary lemon pound cake for my neighbors’ gifts as well.  I still have extra rosemary in the fridge.  Now that Christmas is over, I think I’ll whip up some more cookie dough, shape them, and put them in the freezer.  You can slice and bake whenever you like!  Anyways, I hope y’all had a good Christmas.  I loved every part of this year’s holidays!

Rosemary Shortbread Cookies

1 1/4 cup all-purpose flour

1/4 tsp salt

7 tablespoons unsalted butter, diced

1/3 cup + 1 tablespoon powdered sugar

2 tsp finely chopped rosemary

3 tablespoons water

In a medium bowl, stir together the flour and salt.  Set aside.  In a food processor, pulse the butter cubes with powdered sugar and rosemary. Pulse a few times until incorporated, until the butter looks pea-sized.  Add the flour and salt and continue to pulse until incorporated.  Add in the water, and pulse until the mixture looks smooth and uniform.  Take a long piece of plastic wrap, and place half the dough mixture onto it.  Form into a log and wrap it up.  Repeat with the other half.  Refrigerate for at least 2 hours.  When ready to bake, slice into 1/4-inch thick slices.  Bake in a preheated oven at 350°F for 10 minutes; if you want the cookies lightly browned, bake it for about 12 minutes.  Cool on a wire rack.

Comments
3 Responses to “Rosemary Shortbread Cookies”
  1. Pho says:

    I am so honored you remember those cookies! It smells so good hu and somehow the rosemary really works. I’m so glad you had a good Christmas with your family!

  2. Sapuche says:

    These look great! The rosemary lemon pound cake also sounds incredible. I’m glad to hear you’ve been enjoying your holidays, and I really hope that 2012 brings you so many good things. : )

  3. Nancy Tao says:

    Great idea! I have some rosemary sitting in my fridge.. think I’m gonna whip these up too! Thanks for sharing Tram 🙂

Leave a comment