Mung Bean Dal

I know, I know.  I just said three words that probably confused you.  But trust me, this is good.  Mung beans are used everywhere in Vietnamese cuisine – from sweet soups, to rice, to its paste being used in clear noodles.  They’re in the dried goods section of the market, and can come green (whole) or yellow (peeled and split).  I love them and always have a stash in my pantry for various uses.  If you can, buy them in a local Asian store, where you can get some for about $1 – I’ve seen them for $7 at a local grocery store before!

Dal is an Indian word for any kind of beans.  In this case, I’m using peeled split mung beans.  You could also use lentils too.  It’s slowly simmered in light coconut milk and water, with spices and cauliflower.  I’ve always loved Indian food.  When I was in college, my dad would pick me up on Fridays and we’d go have Indian food or sushi.  When P and I were dating, we got Indian food one Valentine’s Day in DC.  I know it’s silly to say, but Indian food has always been associated with fond memories.

This is like comfort food – like beans and rice in Mexican or Louisiana cooking, the mung beans here are silky and smooth, and the cauliflower just melts into the dish.  I was able to convert my mother-in-law and husband who would never cook or buy cauliflower, so try this dish.  And, of course, my baby likes it (yes, I’m a proud mom who feeds my baby good food!).  Serve it up with some whole-wheat naan bread and you’ve got yourself a complete meal.

Mung Bean Dal

serves 4-6

adapted from Mark Bittman’s The Food Matters

1 cup dried yellow (peeled and split) mung beans

1 can (13.66 oz) lite coconut milk

2 cups water

1 small cauliflower, cored and cut into small florets

2 tablespoons minced ginger

1 clove minced garlic

2 tablespoons curry powder

1/4 teaspoon red pepper flakes

1 teaspoon salt, or to taste

1/2 teaspoon freshly cracked black pepper

2 tablespoons unsalted butter

1/4 cup fresh chopped cilantro, for garnish

1.  Soak the beans in water for two hours.  Drain.

2.  Combine all the ingredients, except for the butter, cilantro, salt, and pepper, into a Dutch oven.  Bring to a boil, then turn down the heat to medium-low.  Stir occasionally and let cook for about 35 minutes, until the beans and cauliflower are tender.

3.  Stir in the butter, and the salt and pepper, to taste.  Top with the chopped cilantro.

Leave a comment